Wednesday, January 9, 2013

Isle of Shadows by T.L. Higley

Tracy L. Higley writes a series of Christian books based on the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World.

In Isle of Shadows, we are on the Isle of Rhodes in the last days before the great earthquake of 226 B.C. The Colossus of Rhodes, a huge bronze statue of Helios, stands astride the harbor of the capital city. 

Tessa, a beautiful and powerful courtesan, must serve Glaucus, the head of the democracy in Rhodes.  She hates her slavery in spite of the gifts and favors she receives. 

Glaucus dies in an accident. However, due to the circumstances, no one is likely to believe that Tessa didn't kill him.  Simeon, the Jewish head servant of the household, and newcomer Nikos help Tessa hide the truth for a short time.

Along with keeping Glaucus' death a secret, they must also discover who is behind certain political maneuverings which include shutting off the water supply to part of the city and the murder of more than one official.

Nikos has his secrets too, which bring about other complications.  Tessa and Nikos find themselves hidden away with Simeon's family in the Jewish section of town during Passover. They are invited to stay for the meal and learn the history of the feast and the promise of the Messiah.

Tessa makes a last desperate stand for her freedom just as the great earthquake hits the island.  The statue of Helios helps secure her freedom in a very compelling manner.

If you like Christian historical fiction, I suggest you read this book.

Kathi Linz

No comments:

Post a Comment